News - Thu 26th Jan 2012 - Talung North Pillar Wins 2012 Nick Estcourt Award - Heason Events

Talung North Pillar Wins 2012 Nick Estcourt Award

26th Jan 2012

The Nick Estcourt Award for 2012 has been awarded to Talung North Pillar (Gavin Pike, James Clapham and Dave Searle). The Award will be £1500 and the Trustees wish them every success with their plans. 2011 saw a record breaking 10 applications which made a big change for the trustees.

Trustee Sir Chris Bonington said: “It was a very difficult decision, but in the end Talung got the vote as it so nearly fits ALL our criteria. It really is a superb line. The team has a good mix of technical ability and experience in the Alps and Alaska but this will be a good first Himalayan trip. This is exactly the sort of expedition that the NEA was set up to support.”

All applications were better prepared and largely on time than in previous years (possibly in response to this Blog posting by award administrator Matt Heason?)

Note the closing date for future applications has changed from 31st December to 31st January to bring the award in line with the Mount Everest Foundation and the British Mountaineering Council.

For more details please contact Matt Heason on 01433 529 219 or 07966 529 219